For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

Something kind of cool happened this weekend...my wife got a Golden Dolphin.

I was so happy I cried. Not a lot of tears of course because it was in public and grown men don't cry. But I did look ready for a Viseen commercial.

My wife works so hard for our family and our friends and tackles any task she has taken on with vigor. She in many ways is my role model. I hope my son takes more after her than me.

A Golden Dolphin is an award given by the SCA (more specifically Atlantia) for service. She puts a lot of time and energy into her role of Registrar of the Atlantian University but will soon be needing to give it up. Since it takes so much time she can't give it the attention she'd like and feels she needs to turn it over once our new child is born. Having 2 children, one newborn and another 2 years old, will take a lot out of her.

What this award means to her I don't know. What it means to me is that others have now publicly said they see what I see and thank her.

I thank you my love.

I thank you for the service you offer an a daily basis to our family. I thank you for being there for me when I needed you. For supporting me on my journey to Knighthood. For keeping me going and motivated. For teaching my son smile the same special smile that you have always given me. The one filled with pride and love.

This weekend I was made a Knight of Atlantia. I will always cherish this memory. It was made special by some very special friends who worked hard on my behalf. I thank you all.

I've been asked a number of times if I feel proud. Well in a sense I do. I feel proud for my Knight who through his efforts gets to say hello to a new brother. I feel proud that his Lady (my friend) has become re-energized and once again involved in the society. I'm proud of my once and future sister for once again standing tall and singing out loud so that all may hear her beautiful voice. I'm proud of my brother for sharing my joy when he is feeling pain. I'm proud of so many things that I truly could not name them all.

But most of all, I'm proud that my Lady loves me, supports me, and will never stop believing in me...till death do us part.

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003