For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

Wrapping up this academic discussion, I had to share with you the written wisdom of my lovely and talented wife. (reposted with permission)

"Reading you and Colin is like the old story about the blind men and the elephant. Both of you have valid arguments, but Colin is looking from an interpersonal, sociological standpoint - the rules that govern how we interact with others based on our experience with them and those people around them. You're arguing the philosophical side as license for social deviancy. And that only proves the statement - each of you has a perception of what that statement means and, like the blind man who debates the creature is a snake versus the one who believes it is a tree, your "reality" is determined by your personal perception. It doesn't make the elephant any less an elephant, but it takes greater exploration to discover it." Palva Dmitrovna to Andrew Grey


Thanks for all of you stopping by. Up next, Colin's Top 10 Rules of Dating... fun for the young and the old.

In the meantime, someone who doesn't have a guest book ask the following question on her diary today. (reposted with permission)

"All of this just begs the question... what does one have to do to get out of the minor leagues and into the majors in the SCA. Can someone answer that for me, Please?!?!?!??!?!?!?"

Dear Lady and friend,

I have no idea. I truly don't know what the magic bullet is. Now if Gorm won Crown... ;-)

What advice I can offer on households came straight from my Knight and his Lady. A household is the family you choose. You are born with one that you don't get a say in. I _asked_ to be in Corby's house. When you make a choice make sure it makes sense for you both. I tip my hat to you for making it through that unfortunate situation with the naughty household (What the hell where they thinking?) this summer. I heard, it pissed me off.

I once read a article written by Dame Anne le Coeur that speaks about an individual's "Peer Journey." I can't do it justice in under a couple hundred words but the short of it is that everyone has a journey and path that will be unique to them. Journey's are for the individual to enjoy. Don't wish the trip over too soon and enjoy the sites along the road. Don't compare your journey with others as their path is different. That being said, the journey is long and often leaves the person feeling like they need a "cool drink of water" known as "recognition" to help keep them moving. It comes most frequently when you aren't looking for it. Formal household can help but ultimately the journey and conclusion is a personal triumph. The whole article is good advice but I know I'm probably messing it up. Maybe if we all clap our hands we can get her to talk about it.

I know your work as a MOL and Chirurgeon and I know you to be dedicated and professional. Keep doing what you love and the rest will take care of itself. Join a household or not. You and Gorm have a lot to offer an ambitious household so don't sell yourself cheap. Require...2 sets of livery each year for yourself and your Lord and one for the wiener dog. ;-)

Anyone have any words of wisdom they can share?

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003