For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

Well, football season is right around the corner and of course I'm primed and ready to see the new NFL year. Everyone is happy and filled with pride as all teams are tied for first place. Want to know how your favorite team will do this season? Simply place your team's name in my guestbook and I'll be happy to oblige. Hey, I'm here for you but be forewarned...it might not be good news I have for you.


"Ok...*sigh* I admit it. I like the Vikings...how bad do you think it will be?"-Kimmie

Actually I like the Viking to get a little more juice back this year. The Viking, however, are not in a particularly tough division as Green Bay is the only really competition to take the NFC East. Chicago and Detroit will have improved but enough to challenge this year. Last year, the Vikings had the number one rushing offense averaging 5.3 yards per carry. With Michael Bennett out for the year, Mike Tice is going to have to rely on rookie Orlando Smith, Doug Chapman, and Moe Williams to get it done. Orlando is not an every down back as he has problems with his work in pass projection. For that reason, you are likely to see Doug in on obvious passing plays while Moe William will be brought in for short and goal situations. If they can combine to equal a legitimate threat, then the Daunte to Moss combo (which has looked better this preseason) should do lots of damage. That and the stronger offensive line and a defense that is a year older, I can easily see the Vikings going 9-7. But will it be enough? Maybe.


I am a life long Bucs and still don't believe they won the Superbowl last year, so I am mentally prepared to be last in the division this year. What do you think? - Alesia

First off, it is exceedingly difficult to repeat. It is almost impossible to repeat in a strong division. It is good that you are prepared for that because the Bucs are in the toughest division in the NFL. Before Vick went down I'd of called them the team to beat out of our little quartet. Now it isn't as clear cut. The NFC South is going to hammer each other to a state where they are either beating everyone else or too tired to compete. In all likelihood, there could be a one win difference between first and last place in this division. The Bucs offense did nothing to improve on their its talent of skill and in fact lost a starter due to Michael Pittman's off field problems. Brad Johnson was a pleasant surprise for an offense that wasn't counted on to do much. And while Keyshawn Johnson, McCardell, and Jurevious make a hell of a trio, they will continue to be a one dimensional team. I know Thomas Jones has arms the size of my thighs but this Arizona transplant isn't going to command the respect of opposing defenses. On the other side of the ball, I see the league's #1 defense getting as fat as Warren Sapp on its last year's success. Add to the picture that they are not very deep behind the starting superstars means that a couple of key injuries could really hurt this team. If they get into a losing streak, I'm not at all sure they'll have the hunger necessary to pull themselves out. Still, I'll also give them a 9-7 based mainly on the out of division matchups. Most of their losses will be from Atlanta, Carolina, and New Orleans.


"Alrighty, come on and refuse to give the Patriots the respect they deserve...you know you wanna pick em 4th in the AFC Least...so gimme something to hold against ya all fall! - Gorm

Ah, a very popular pick this off season but they live in the toughest division in the AFC. With Buffalo, Miami, and the NY Jets all fighting for the division title this one is going to me hard to tell. I'd look for them to slip the division going 3-3 on the strength of one of the best coaches in the game. That man know how to make a game plan. For a team that has no real stars on offense, they play very well as a team. They were ranked in the bottom third in both offense and defense last year and I just don't see them moving up the chart. I see 8-8 but mainly because you're facing the NFC East this year.


"Your thoughts on what the Zereoue over Bettis decision means to the Steelers?" - Mel

I hate to say it but it definitely is time to park "the bus." He just hasn't been himself of late and trying to run behind that porous offensive line wouldn't help his cause. Sometimes it's better to shake up a team by adding new blood and I betting Coach Cower is hoping the same thing. Zereoue is a power back in the mold of a younger, spriter Bettis and should, and I mean should, still be able to pick up the short yardage. It's a shame really as the Steeler's "iron curtain" has become a set of sheer drapes. Look for the Steeler's offense to be pass happy at the start of the season behind a revitalized Tommy Maddox who is looking to get a big contract extension by the end of this year. And with weapons like Plaxico, Hines, and Randle El why not? I just can't see anyway that the Steelers will remain in the top 10 in run offense this year but if Maddox wasn't a one-year-wonder, watch this passing offense go. The only reason I'll give them a playoff nod is because of their home in the weakest division in the NFL. It's true the Ravens will push them this year and if they're not careful they could be looking for a wildcard spot. I'm going 10-6 but it could easily be a game or two up and down this season.

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003