For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

So I armored up for fighter practice last night and I got to tell you I'm feeling better and better. There are some shots that still hurt a bit when they land, others that hurt when I miss, and still others that my mind won't let me throw because I know I'm not ready for that kind of shoulder stress (read as it hurts like a bitch).

My intent is to armor up for at least part of the day this weekend at Sapphire Joust. I'm MIC for the St Aiden melee tournament but other than that I'm going to do what I can to be on the field in armor. I'm still a little slow and clumsy hopefully that will be fixed with practice. I'm not pushing it but now that it has been 3 months I'm convinced the pain I'm feeling is type you have to work through, not nurse. I take 800 mg of Vitamin I three times a day to keep the inflamation down and it helps. The shoulder actually aches less after a workout in the home gym or even a fighter practice.

I still need to get all of my armor piece back that I loaned out and I'm working on a few new pieces and will be making a new gambeson once I get my fabric this weekend form Bonnie (check out her site as she has some great prices on most of her offering). I figure about once every three years or so you needs to update your armor. Maybe adding a little more spiff or simply replacing worn-out items. In my case it is a little of both plus the addition of some formfitting body armor that will help protect my aging body. Based on the report of a friend who uses the stuff I've picked up a new flac jacket that offer some shoulder, back, rib, and sternum protection in a performance enabling manner. It's pricey but than again so was my last operation.

If I can scrounge up some fencing gear I'd like to do some pickups or maybe see what a rapier melee fight feels like. Are there charges or is it just static lines? Do Atlantian fencers form fighting triads, regional groups, or every man for themselves? I plan to support my kingdom in all the fighting war points this year as best I can so I need the practice.

Anyway, I look forward to seeing many of you out on the field this weekend.

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003