For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

I have seen "The Passion" and I "get it." Too few of those movie reviews you've read truly do. Not because "the media" is "owned by the Jews" or anything so paranoid. Simply stated, they fear you going to see this movie. Why fear? Because it is that good. Go see it with an open mind and with few preconceived notions. If you hate Mel Gibson then try and forget he was involved with the movie. If you were hoping that it would be anti-Semitic you are going to be disappointed. If you where expecting it to be difficult to watch you'd be wrong.

It was a powerful journey into the heart of faith of half the world's population. Most experienced reviews just can't do it justice so I'm not even going to attempt to try to do a full review. Only Roger Ebert seems to have a good idea of what he saw, "I prefer to evaluate a film on the basis of what it intends to do, not on what I think it should have done. It is clear that Mel Gibson wanted to make graphic and inescapable the price that Jesus paid (as Christians believe) when he died for our sins." He goes on to say, "It is a film about an idea. An idea that it is necessary to fully comprehend the Passion if Christianity is to make any sense. Gibson has communicated his idea with a single-minded urgency." He respects the film for what it was intended to be and doesn't try to turn it into something it was not.

Not being a movie reviewer I will instead attempt to sum up this movie in one word. Transformation. This movie is filled with people whose lives are being altered before their eyes. I was able to see how an events so hideous as to defy humanity could transform those around it. Peter, Judas, Pontius Pilate, Simon the Cyrenian, his guards, and the people on the streets can all be seen to be transformed by the power of the moment. From scene to scene I was transformed again and again by the faith, love, and devotion on display. Sure there was blood and there was violence but it wasn't excessive. I went into it fully expecting to be beaten with a 2 hours version of the first 15 minutes of "Saving Private Ryan." It was not like that at all. You were shown enough of His suffering till your mind could comprehend the pain than He was given more. Once again you mind adjusted and He was give more, than even more on top of that. Your eyes stop focusing on the blood and the wounds and you really see his face and understand. Well, I understood.

The violence in this movie didn't bring a single tear from my eye. However, whenever Mary (Jesus' mother) was on screen I found it almost impossible to keep a dry eye. And let me be clear here. The script for this whole movie (dialog only) couldn't have filled more than 2 dozen typed pages. Everything we experience in witnessing these performances is on the strength of the actors. Mary's performance was beautiful, inspired, memorable.

Look, I said I wasn't going to do a review and I mean it. I just want to say one more thing about "this movie potentially causing others to take anti-Semitic actions." B---s---! Not going to happen. You witness someone suffering in a manner beyond imagination. How can any person anywhere ever claim to be hurt so much that they have a right hate another man when even unto death He prays for those who killed him?

Again, Ebert points out, "My own feeling is that Gibson's film is not anti-Semitic, but reflects a range of behavior on the part of its Jewish characters, on balance favorably. The Jews who seem to desire Jesus' death are in the priesthood, and have political as well as theological reasons for acting; like today's Catholic bishops who were slow to condemn abusive priests, Protestant TV preachers who confuse religion with politics, or Muslim clerics who are silent on terrorism, they have an investment in their positions and authority. The other Jews seen in the film are viewed positively; Simon helps Jesus to carry the cross, Veronica brings a cloth to wipe his face, Jews in the crowd cry out against his torture."

Contrary to popular belief I am not very religious. I go to mass during Easter, Christmas, and when the wife makes me. I'm the "typical" Catholic who has never even read the Bible cover-to-cover (though I've heard its gotten rave reviews). Still I figure if you go to church long enough you'll eventually have all the important stuff covered for you.

That being said, when I was growing up my parents made sure I never missed a week. I attended the hour long CCD (Christian Child Development) classes along with all the other kids in my age group. I was an alter boy, got my Ad Altare Dei in the boy scout, went on weekend "retreats," and even starred for three years straight as Pontius Pilate in the annual "Live Stations of the Cross" (Yup, I was a redheaded toga wearing Roman).

Still, as an adult the community of faith is something I run from and back to frequently. There are times when I really feel like I need the church and others when I find it bothersome. But I know this, I want my boys raised as I was with a strong sense of morality. I know atheists say you can get that without faith but I want my boys to grow up understanding that morality is not an individual thing. The Church is a community and we are a communal animal. When you sin, you hurt yourself, your neighbor, and your community. People need to be instructed on what is acceptable behavior and what is not. The limits we set upon ourselves give us structure. In that structure we can draw comfort and strength. Changing that structure should only be done with the greatest of care and respect for what was.

"The Passion" was an excellent reminder of the transforming power of the community of faith and the love of our Lord Jesus Christ.

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003