For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

Okay, for a first entry in this damnable addiction that all my friends seem to being falling into, I will simply state a few unimportant facts about myself.

Being born in the North but spending most of my life in North Carolina (the Piedmont area), I met a beautiful woman who would change my life while studying Communications and Political Science at UNC Greensboro. Being that she graduated a year before me and already had a steady job, she won the battle of where we would live. At the age of a youthful 24 with a bachelors degree and no job, I moved to Richmond, VA to be with my soon-to-be wife.

A short stint as a messenger for a local law firm and only recently a newlywed, I took a job with a small Macintosh software development company...for minimum wage. Starting as an IT recruiter, working for a time as a account manager, I worked on my skills and experience until I could expertly manage IT projects. Nearly 7 years of service and 4 million dollars in profit later, I got the boot. Sure they gave me a package but it wasn't much. It seems my former company was (and still is) on the road to ruin and thus could no longer afford to keep its favorite son. True, they held on to me longer than most (I like to think out of loyalty not because I know where the bodies are) but it was still tough.

This event however has brought about other life change. Once again I will be pulling up roots and taking my love and my 18 month old son on another trip. This move takes us to Virginia Beach, VA. This time when we arrive however, I will not have to start without friends or contacts. Due mostly to relationships we've formed with other members of an organization with a worldwide presence, the Society for Creative Anachronism (SCA). It has seen us travel to many cities and states and have contact with scores of people without which we would never have had the pleasure of meeting.

Shortly, we will have moved into our new home in our new community while taking with us a even larger community. Friends. Mentors. Brothers and sister truth to tell. I feel better prepared and less uncomfortable with facing change this time around.

Got to love friends.

Anyway, for them what care, there it is.

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003