For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

"Patience is the companion of wisdom." - Saint Augustine

I feel a rant coming on...

I hate wait

No really...I do. Just because I'm slow in starting certain tasks doesn't mean I should have to wait for others to finish theirs right?

Okay, maybe it is self-centered but there it is. I mean with email, if you put "respond ASAP" or "important" in the header I'll break my balls to make sure you hear from me. By putting these simple words in the subject line I know the ball is now in my court and I have to take action.

Simple right?

So why am I waiting? Checking my email every 10 minutes to see if the information I need is in so I can go to bed with this task off my mind.

(hold on, need to check again)

Damn, not a thing. Just that annoying little "ping" noise outlook express makes by default saying no one loves you and has sent the info you're waiting on.

Did I mention I hate wait?

So anyway, my wife is in charge of maintaining and updating one website and I'm in charge of another. This is one of her busy seasons so I really only get computer access from timer to time. No big deal there since I spend all day at work on a computer and don't much feel like working on new projects once I get home. Hell, some nights I'm not even reading my sports news...just want to veg.

But back to my wife. She is a continued education registrar for a nonprofit organization that studies the middle ages. She maintains a database of more than 3200 participants and has handled more than 4000 registrations in the last year. She update the University website with course schedules, cancellations, directions, etc. and determines who is eligible for what awards (though I'm not sure "awards" is the right term here since you earn it).

(back to that send/receive button...just to see)

G@DD@MN it. Just because it is 12:30 in the morning doesn't mean I should have to wait. Did I mention I hate wait?

Where was I? Oh. So now I am webminister for a different group but within the same organization. This group is centered around armor combat training and participation. It's a small but dedicated group of guys who've been doing this for a while and have shown a certain level of skill and/or leadership abilities. I don't have the kind of need or pressure she does to make sure everything is up-to-date but I like to do my job.

Figure what the hell, we're small...I'll let each of them come up with the content for their personal bio pages right? Seems fair after all. Only have to answer a dozen or so simple questions, provide me a picture and a drawing of their heraldry. But can they do this is a timely fashion? Yes and no. You can tell the ones that care because they've got all there items in months ago. Sure I'll cut the new guys slack but I'm still missing Device drawings for over 75% of our numbers. I can make Photoshop stand up and dance but not if I don't know what they look like. Sure you can kind of put it together based on the blazon but even that is an iffy proposition.

So here I am...waiting. Waiting for content that allows me to mentally mark this task as done and perhaps, perhaps mind, get a good night's rest.

Sigh!

Even if I got it now I'm probably too tired to do a quality job with it at this point anyway. Guess I'll just have to keep waiting.

Anyway, for them what care, there it is.

(damn, still no email)

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003