For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

It was the winter of 1991. I was attending a local community college with the hopes of becoming a police officer. I was in the Army Reserves and having recently completed my studies to become a Drill Sergeant, I was awaiting call up to participate in the (first) Gulf War. I was living in Winston Salem, NC working at a Rockola as a waiter and not particularly happy with how my life was unfolding.

I got an invite to attend a college party in Greensboro and I figured what the hell. There I noticed a girl wearing a black armband and looking for all the world like she stepped out of a 70's hippy commune. I, with my regulation Army buzz cut, was sitting on a set of stairs watching people I didn't know have a good time. She noticed me noticing her and walked over to start a conversation. We spent the rest of the evening just talking. I never got bored and I never stopped listening.

I quit the community college and started my track to a 4 year degree. I decided that instead of law enforcement I'd become a lawyer. This decision was helped by her father who said that if I wanted to stay with his daughter I'd BETTER get my degree. Hint taken but not needed. Sue has always had the ability to make me feel like I could do more and be more. By the time we were married 3 years later I was convinced that I would one day be a United States Senator. With her at my side I had every confidence that I could do it (still do but that is less of a goal).

Now my main goal is to be a proper provider and a loving husband and father that raises two well adjusted young boys. This Friday will be our 10th wedding anniversary and I couldn't be happier. Well, I could but that would involve not having to work late, work weekends, and travel away from my family so much. Sue and the boys mean the world to me and I couldn't imagine a life without them.

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003