For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

Well, Sapphire Joust has come and gone. What a simply enjoyable weekend. Special thanks to Sir Balynar, Master Fritz, and their bang up staff of hard workers for one heck of an event. Congratulations to Bryce and Gorm for winning the Sapphire prizes. It is truly a feat that cannot be accomplished but for the support and inspiration of one's love. Two more worthy individuals I do not know. And thank you Melisent for an honor I will cherish always.

I'll try to explain this weekend but I'm not as good as others at writing long narratives. I have always been more to remember the essence of an experience rather than the detail. I lack the poet's heart and the bard's skill at expressing through words what this weekend meant to me. I had not realized until after all the fighting was done how much fear was eating at me leading up to Sapphire Joust.

I was afraid that the pain I was experiencing every morning working in my home gym was going to be ever present. Though logic told me it would pass I had no proof of it. I still struggle to bench a mere 50 pounds when I once could lift 300. I still cannot do a single pushup where once I could max out points on the Army PT test. And yet I set my sights on Sapphire Joust for my return. So I pushed, I stretched, I lifted, I stretched, and I took large doses of Ibuprofen 3 times a day.

In the absence of proof one has to have faith. I believed I would be able to get into armor again but the question was could I be competitive? Could I throw a shot that would have enough strength to take out my toughest opponents? How important was it to me to get back out onto that field and finish what I had started? How, if at all, would things be different?

Turns out thing were different but in a means I had not fathomed. I fought and by most measures I had a good day on the field. But there was something much more. Everywhere I turned I felt kinship and support. The kindness so many displayed not only to myself but to my wife and to each other made me feel at home this weekend. The nods, the smiles, the kind words coupled with the victories on the field all got to be too much. At the end of the day once all the fighting was done I laid my head on my lady's shoulder shuddering as the tears streamed unbidden from my face as I realized that my time on the field was not done. Not yet. I could still play and do it competitively. It was a joyful moment.

My faith in the doctors and my faith in myself had not been misplaced. More, my faith in my friends grows with every passing day and encounter as well wishes I didn't even think I needed settle home. I have a family related issue that I am working through right now in which I am unsure what to do. However, there is no question that the extended family I've developed through shared experiences in our society will always have a place in my life.

Thank you one and all. And I'll see you on the list field.

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003