For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

Duke CuanOkay, I admit it.

I was the one that wrote the "Which Atlantian Duke are you?" quiz some time ago. What started out as SCA Political humor written for readers who might have stumbled onto it the one day I had the "results" posted to my site, has since turned into a test that has been taken some 4000 times. Even taking into consideration a number of people taking it more than once to figure out what answers changed results, that is still a lot of people for an SCA quiz. Maybe I'll get in trouble for admitting this but I just had these jokes itching the back of my mind in such a way that I had to let it out.

I mean think about it. I used Michael, Gyrth, Logan, Cuan, and "Not eligible" (i.e.. too wimpy to be an Atlantian Royal). Based on the type of questions I could ask and the 5 standard archetypes of evil, sage, chaos, hero, and everyman, who would have been better fits? My question to you dear readers and aspiring writers is what archetypes did I forget in which Anton, Galmir, Richard, and others could have fit?

See, I'm of the opinion that every once in a while, we need to laugh at ourselves while not taking ourselves so seriously. As I mentioned before, I like ironic humor (the situational humor that is so common in American sitcoms is one reason why I don't watch primetime broadcast programming). I hope that it was obvious that I respected each man even though I was "roasting" them on some of there more identifiable traits.

Oh, and I thought about it. I'm sorry Countess Brigit but I can't image doing this type of "roasting" for the Ladies of the Rose. The story of my banishment would be one told to young squires to scare them into being more respectful to ladies. It...just would be dangerous.

If, however, you have ideas for other quizzes you'd like to put up under an alias, I still have that account open and I now know how to make one.

How about "Which Atlantian Peerage Suites You Best?" The five choices? Well, Chivalry, Laurel, Pelican, Lady of the Rose, and White Scarf (running for cover). What do you think?

BTW, while more people turned out to be Cuan, Logan was right there in the mix. Of the subject persons who took the test, Logan was the only one to not come out as himself (and I'm not buying that the test showed he was really Duke Gyrth.)

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003