For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

I had a good time this weekend at Coronation. Excellent company, wonderful camaraderie, and exceptional planning made for a clockwork like, picture-perfect event at a location that offered a beautiful sunset. Like others, I found this weekend to be a rejuvenation of sorts. I'm not entirely sure the reason but I have some thoughts.

1) Cuan and Padraigin as a team seem to have this ability to both display and bring out in others the three aspects of "age" that are often associated to "man." The playfulness of youth, the determination of the middle-aged, and the wisdom of the old. The slipping from one form to another while avoiding strict adherence to any one mode can be both refreshing and captivating. It is more like reading a "choose your own adventure" book rather than a novel whose plot is transparent by Chapter 2. I feel most honored and most privileged to be the Queen's Champion (Heavy Weapons). If Her gentle soul can accept this banged-up, opinionated, sarcastic conservative for what he is...well then I guess I can try and see how many miles are left in this tank. I'm looking forward to this reign.

2) Thanks to the efforts of Alejandro, Roland, and Christian, I am now "authorized" to fight with an epee and schlager. Thanks to their courteous treatment, demonstrations, points, and tips, I was able to pass my authorizations within the very hour I'd first worn a mask with a sword in my hand. They also made me feel like an honored guest as opposed to the invading barbarian I quite expected to feel. I interacted with the part of their community that was filled with generous souls and eager instructors. I had an excellent time and will likely continue playing on that field from time to time as I discover that I, for whatever reason, enjoy once again being at or near the bottom of fighters in a given discipline. As was pointed out to me this weekend, my competitive nature will not let me simply stick my toe into the water. I feel driven to get completely wet and immediately find someone to race. I know it may be awhile before I can fight in a Crown Tournament and the Best of the Best is an invitational I'm not sure I can get to with this body this year. But I can improve my skills with these new, less impact heavy forms and see what can transfer where to make me a better fighter overall. I'm looking forward to this new challenge.

3) I'm going back to Pennsic this year. If only each of you truly understand how much I miss this event. It has been 3 years. My pavilion has gone to more Pennsics than us and we bought it new. The camping, the conversation, the BSing... The pickup fights, the field battles, the woods... The new castle (which I haven't fought in yet), the bridges, and the champion battles... The smell of the battle, the stirring speeches, the brothers-at-arms standing shoulder to shoulder crossing the field at top speeds to engage in honorable combat. Turning all the training, all the practices into a series of actions and re-actions that flow into the choreographed dance of utter chaos that we know as BATTLE. Did I miss it? You bet. And this year, I'm going back and I'm going to be ready.

Anyway, for them what care...

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003