For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

I had a great time this weekend at Crusades. We were lucky in that our boys could stay at camp grandma's while my lovely wife and I got a little time away from the boys. It was most refreshing. I enjoy hanging with both old friends and new and just hearing how your lives are progressing. Good or bad, your stories enrich me.

Well on to fighting. Let me start by saying that this Crusades felt weird (on the field) for some reason. Maybe it was because we were greatly outnumbered or maybe it was because those guys that have historically been the "heart and soul" of the sub-units is changing. Regardless, we did some good things and some bad. Mostly bad things. It's starting to look like the "Atlantian Mojo" is taking a vacation. I fault myself as much as anyone else as I haven't been recruiting and training a pack of stonecold killers made up of Northern region fighters. I think it is time to figure out a way to regain some of that mystique. Lord knows the King and Warlord can't do it by themselves.

Speaking of our Warlord, if you are out there...what the hell were you thinking putting me up against arguably one of the best fighters in the Known World? Don't get me wrong, I loved the challenge but other than for the Knight of the Heart event I haven't put on armor in well over 2 months. Anyway, I drew Stephen von Dresden in the belted Champions Battle. This is the same guy that one shotted Logan when they went head-to-head a couple of years ago and, I believe, he has won at least one Best-of-the-Best tournament.

Anyway, Cuan wasn't going to let me beg off claiming injury and so I was in the game. It wasn't until more than halfway threw the bought that I learned that Stephen and my fight was to be the "closer." Well great! I sat back and enjoyed watching all (well most) of the fights leading up to the last and started to feel as "proud" as I'm sure Gyrth was for being the "headliner" in this summer's Hawaiian luau only I was caught without my grass skirt. Folks, Atlantia wasn't having a pretty day.

Okay, let me jump to the last fight. We start with salutes all around and finish by walking up for the obligatory shaking of the hands. I say something like, "I've heard a lot of good things about you and it's a pleasure to cross swords on this field of honor." To which he replies with a blank stare indicating he had no idea who I was and a barely audible, "same to you." We back to our original spots where I let off my final good luck/prayer salute and the marshals ask if we are ready.

This is when the devil stepped on my shoulder.

I don't know why I said it but as I looked across the field at my opponent he seemed to shrink. I get this from time-to-time (though rare) in which someone who has "renown" greater than mine seem to become both mortal and somehow less infallible before my very eyes. This happened to me the first time when I was facing Sir Kia in my first crown tournament. It is also usually the harbinger of good things to come. This time however, I decided to share my observation with my opponent.

Right before the marshals called "lay on" I called across the field, "You know, you look shorter in person."

In that instance...I got into this head. I swear it felt great. What felt like about 5 minutes of fighting probably lasted no more than a couple. I felt like if I hadn't switched to an unknown sword with a lighter weight and shorter reach, a lot of almost kills would have been solid enough to have been telling. Still, this guy is really fast with both excellent targeting and defense. Anyway, I was doing fine till I reset slightly in his range and he tagged me with a lightning fast flat (I pulled my shield a little to close). It wasn't hard but it was clean and we were done.

Note to readers, all his shots seem to come from between his shoulder blades. This of course is one of the reasons he is so fast but you don't have to worry so much about weird angles or wide wraps.

The number of Eastern Dukes that came up to me after the fight with compliments was heartening. Funny, much like this year's Sapphire Joust I have Cuan to thank for scheduling me a marquee match up that more than makes for the cost of the trip. Then it was Logan (to advance in the winner's list) and this weekend against a superb fighter that is still on the rise and making waves. While I can't believe I was Atlantia's best chance to beat Stephen this weekend, I'm predicting now that it was that type of investment that will pay dividends into the future as it has sparked this overweight, gimpy shouldered, father of two to rebound from this injury and get back into the game.

I'm going to use this winter to get repaired and start training for the last open slot given to winner(s) of the Pre Best-of-the-Best tournament. What can I say, I'm a goal oriented person. Atlantia took the two open slots last year so maybe we can do it again. For various reasons it may be a while before a Crown Tournament is in my future. Something like this could be an excellent motivation to help me break through to the next level.

To Their Majesties and his Grace...thanks.

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003