For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

"One always overcompensates for disabilities. I'm thinking of having my entire body surgically removed." - Douglas Adams

Disabilities are not humorous. They're sad.

Rather, they're sad when that individual does not take the extra effort required to take control of their situation and become more than what was handed to them in life. Disabilities are nothing more than characteristics. I have brown eyes, I'm short, and I have a set of circumstances that have occurred during my life that makes me uniquely me. Some have helped, some have gotten in my way...at least temporarily.

They are only disabilities if I don't fight to overcome them.

I've seen or heard of both one-legged knights and blind knights. For every story you hear of a person giving up because of a disability I can point to a "Rudy."

"The only disability in life is a bad attitude." - Scott Hamilton

There are so many "disabilities" out there that if I didn't laugh in the face and I'd weep at the number of crutches. It is easy to become one of the masses that looks at a person and explains to others why they can't do something. I look at that person expecting that they can.

My son falls down and gets a scrape I tell him to rub some dirt in it and get back in the game. Not because I don't care but rather because I do. I want him to grow up to be a self-confident man. No one ever became a man holding on to his mother's apron strings.

Stronger, well-intentioned men may caudal the weak and keep them safe but they do those who seek to rise out of their situation a great disservice. Republicans are big on instilling the concept of taking personal responsibility and building self-esteem though individual achievement, not filling people with excuses. Only losers make excuses. Winners never have to.

Careful you don't help your friends to be losers.

Respect those who turn lemons into lemonade. And if you get a minute, see if you can learn something from them.

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003