For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

"I got to attend a Duke Paul of Bellatrix class," newbie SCAdian

He camped with us offering one-on-one instruction.

"I actually talked to Duke Gyrth Oldcastle," newbie SCAdian

I've camped with him, spent evening at his house, and even have had the opportunity to engage in deep philosophical conversations with him both related and unrelated to the SCA.

"Have you ever met a BOD member?"

Yeah, one or two.


It's funny really. People that are legends in the SCA are just people, like you and me. The difference is that they have already accomplished something worth remembering. Through writing and through deeds, their experience has broken the ground that allows others to follow. Some people enter the game as bonfires destined to burnout. These people I'm taking about are torches, forever burning, lighting our path showing us the way. It is something I often thing on while approaching a night vigil. I think about the people who lit the torches. Will the person inside the tent be a new torch? What feats will they accomplish? Will my sons look up to them and one day say, "Yeah, I know Mistress Emma...Sir/Master Bryce...etc." What I haven't decided yet is whether or not the torch gets passed on or is a new one lit?

Each person's journey in the SCA is an individual story. Some epic and fantastic. Some simple and personal. I've seen many stories play out that make me weep with their conflicts and climaxes. But not all are equal or complete. Some I throw down as if disinterested with the dustcover description while others I'm hook after reading the first chapter. I love a good story. One where the protaganist rises above the challenge and completes the quest. But you can't have a compelling story if you're not in the game. History remembers those who took a stand; those that took risks. It also remembers those that inspire others and those that say, "Hey, you might want to listen to this."

Our legends are made of the same stuff. It's just that their stories are rich and their service is undeniable. However, I've never met one worth remembering that was a "trophy polisher." They don't count the awards or push their medallions in your face. They are often as encouraging and gracious as they can be opinionated and garrulous. Some may be curmugeonly but they enrich our experience and may not realize just how much their presence would be missed.

I've typed far more on this than I intended as a lead into my thoughts and prayers for Duke Gryth's speedy recovery. And while I know he is not overly fond of being thought of as a legend it is my distinct impression that his epic story is not yet complete. That there are multiple volumes waiting to be written with him in both the Jungian archetypes of "the hero" and "the wise old man." I can only pray he'll keep sharing them with us.

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003