For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

So I was listening to the radio the other day and while waiting at the drive thru I heard a commercial. I generally turn my volume down so I don't offend the cashier in the window with the voice of Rush Limbaugh (you hear that Lucia?) but this commercial forced me to turn it up. This was an advertisement that made me very nervous. The company's name is "800 Got Junk" and the line that got me was, "We will come to your house and remove your junk and you don't even have to get off the couch."*

WHAT?!?!? (turn the volume up)

"We schedule your junk removal appointment at a time that is convenient to you."

Well THAT�S good. Nothing says a bad day more than having a group of strangers show up at your door to remove your junk when you are not ready. "Please, can you come back a little later as I was thinking I might not be ready to part with my junk. How about next Tuesday?"

"Your junk is removed and a thorough sweep up of the site is completed."

Well...thanks I think. The sweeping up part is nice but is it really worth losing you junk over? Can I pay you to come over and just clean up around the junk?

"Your junk is recycled or taken to transfer stations or a landfill."

Seriously, while impressive is it really important enough to leave at a transfer station? And I'm not sure how I feel about my junk being buried in a landfill. I'm thinking a meadow...with flowers...and a discreed headstone reading, "Here Lies Colin's Junk."

"We do all the loading � you don�t even need to get it to the curb."

I'll have to check, but I'm pretty sure my neighborhood association would not allow me to place my junk on the curb for any length of time. I'm not at all sure I'd want it there. And I'm not about to play the $50 a day fine the association would charge if the junk was hanging out there longer then scheduled.

I'm telling you this commercial freaks me out. Heard it again today. Maybe people who listen to Rush Limbaugh really have a need for junk removal (I'm pretty sure a few of my readers would agree with that statement). Seriously, who are these marketing people? Who creates a company that does this and how do they stay in business? Come on, really. There can't be THAT many people willing to partake in these services. No, thank you for the offer but I'm going to hold onto mine for a little while longer. It's mine and I'm thinking I'm miss it if it was gone.

*junk: this slang for the lower region of the male body; aka the package or the boys.

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003