For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

No way I can top that which BdeB or Balynar wrote on Heroes so I thought I'd share a couple of my favorite hero speeches from various movies, books, and plays. Got any favorites? Of course, Puckeater has permanently ruined any change I have of watching President Bush's father give ANY speech on the possibility of war in the gulf. He does it by quoting one of my favorite movies growing up whenever he sees footage of the man. You'll have to ask him what it is. :-)

Cheers!


"In less than an hour, aircraft from here will join others from around the world, and you will be launching the largest aerial battle in the history of mankind. Mankind, that word should have new meaning for all of us today. We can't be consumed by our petty differences any more. We will be united in our common interest. Perhaps it's fate that today is the Fourth of July, and you will once again be fighting for our freedom. Not from tyranny, oppression or persecution, but from annihilation. We're fighting for our right to live, to exist, and should we win the day, the Fourth of July will no longer be known as an American holiday, but as the day when the world declared in one voice: �We will not go quietly into the night! We will not vanish without a fight! We're going to live on! We're going to survive! Today we celebrate our Independence Day!�"

President Whitmore
Independence Day


"This is egg salad. It's loaded with cholesterol. The wife won't even let me touch it. Hardly seems to matter now, 'cause chances are we're already dead. Amazing is gone. There's no use waiting for the cavalry, because as of this moment, the cavalry is us. This is our fight, whether we like it or not. Just we few. We're not your classic superheroes. We're not the favorites. We're the other guys. We're the guys nobody ever bets on. But I'll tell you what I think. Bowler, I think you and that ball of yours have an appointment that you gotta keep. Invisible Boy, I think it's time you were seen. Sphinx, you have trained us well. And Dr. Heller, you might just have given us the edge we need. And Spleen. I don't wanna stand behind you. But I'll fight beside you with pride. Jeff. You've got a rare and beautiful gift. The city needs you tonight. And Roy, in all the years I've known you, I've never seen you walk away from a fight. Why you lifted a city bus once, man. I think you've got what it takes to handle Casanova. We're all in over our heads and we know it. But if we take on this fight, those of us who survive it will forever after show our scars with pride and say, "That's right. I was there. I fought the good fight." So what do you say? Do we all gather together, and go kick some Casanova butt? Or do I eat this sandwich?"

The Shoveler
Mystery Men


"If we are mark'd to die, we are enow
To do our country loss; and if to live,
The fewer men, the greater share of honour.
God's will! I pray thee, wish not one man more.
By Jove, I am not covetous for gold,
Nor care I who doth feed upon my cost;
It yearns me not if men my garments wear;
Such outward things dwell not in my desires:
But if it be a sin to covet honour,
I am the most offending soul alive.
No, faith, my coz, wish not a man from England;
God's peace! I would not lose so great an honour
As one man more, methinks, would share from me,
For the best hope I have. O! do not wish one more:
Rather proclaim it, Westmoreland, through my host,
That he which hath no stomach to this fight,
Let him depart; his passport shall be made,
And crowns for convoy put into his purse:
We would not die in that man's company
That fears his fellowship to die with us.
This day is called the feast of Crispian:
He that outlives this day, and comes safe home,
Will stand a tip-toe when this day is nam'd,
And rouse him at the name of Crispian.
He that shall live this day, and see old age,
Will yearly on the vigil feast his neighbours,
And say 'To-morrow is Saint Crispian':
Then will he strip his sleeve and show his scars,
And say 'These wounds I had on Crispin's day.'
Old men forget; yet all shall be forgot,
But he'll remember with advantages
What feats he did this day. Then shall our names,
Familiar in his mouth as household words,
Harry the king, Bedford and Exeter,
Warwick and Talbot, Salisbury and Gloucester,
Be in their flowing cups freshly remember'd.
This story shall the good man teach his son;
And Crispin Crispian shall ne'er go by,
From this day to the ending of the world,
But we in it shall be remembered;
We few, we happy few, we band of brothers;
For he to-day that sheds his blood with me
Shall be my brother; be he ne'er so vile
This day shall gentle his condition:
And gentleman in England now a-bed
Shall think themselves accurs'd they were not here,
And hold their manhoods cheap whiles any speaks
That fought with us upon Saint Crispin's day."

Henry
Henry V


"Lo' there do I see My Father,
Lo' there do I see My Mother, My Sisters, & My Brothers,
Lo' there do I see the line of My People, back to the Beginning
Lo' they do call to me, they bid me take my place among them,
in the Halls of Valhalla, Where The Brave May Live FOREVER"

Viking Prayer
The 13th Warrior

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003