For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

In my world, the conversation would go something like this.


FBI Agent: Excuse me ma'am, I need the record of all transactions related to this individual. (slides her a sheet of paper)

Polite Librarian: I'm sorry sir but we don't provide that type of information about our patrons.

FBI Agent: Ma'am, according to the Patriot Act, I can get a subpoena that will force you to comply.

Polite Librarian: Do you have a subpoena for this individual's transactions?

FBI Agent: Well, no but I can get one within 30 minutes. I was hoping you'd comply and save us both the time and hassle. It is after all for the safety and well being of the rest of your patrons that we are checking.

Polite Librarian: Give me a moment please (goes back to the offices...couple of seconds later you can hear the sounds of shredding as she returns)

FBI Agent: What in the hell are you doing?

Polite Librarian: Protecting my patron's rights.

FBI Agent: You are interfering with a legitimate inquiry. You are endangering those around you. If there is nothing in his records that could incriminate him, what are you protecting?

Polite Librarian: His freedom...and an ideal. Now can I interest you in one of our new releases? They are on the shelf over there.

FBI Agent: Jesus lady, you realize that you could be destroying the one piece of evidence that puts this guy away, thus saving YOUR patron's from harm? AND you are doing so without blinking an eye?

Polite Librarian: Please lower your voice.

FBI Agent: Sorry ma'am. Well?

Polite Librarian: We are both protecting my patrons in the only way we can. You are doing your job and I respect that. Please respect my need to protect my patrons from what amounts to a fishing expedition. When people are afraid that their reading habits will be open to review based on anything so flimsy as a "suspicion," they will stop using our services. One of our goals is to encourage people to read. Our providing this service to our patrons removes barriers such as cost and access to those who most need our help. Please don't make our goals any harder to achieve by adding new barriers.

FBI Agent: (sigh) Very well ma'am. I don't agree but I respect your opinion. While I'd hate to make a case based on what someone was reading, you'd be surprised how such knowledge can help us profile suspects and lead us down new investigatory avenues. Yes it is fishing and no the majority of these reviews don't add any value but it is the one or two that do that make us explore every possible angle. Thanks for your time.

Polite Librarian: Sir? Thank you for understanding.

FBI Agent: Yeah. Hey, you wouldn't by chance have the newest Patricia Cornwell would you?

Polite Librarian: I'm sorry sir but we just checked that out to the nice DEA agent on stakeout across the street. Could I interest you in the newest Tom Clancy?

FBI Agent: Sure.

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003