For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

How many of you know that I have an older sister and a younger brother and sister that are twins? I was ten years old when the twins were born on Christmas day of 1980. My older sister has three lovely children that always bring a smile to my face to talk with. Last Friday, my youngest sister graduated from ECU and, when she passes her exams, will get to put a "MT" after her name. As she is quick to defend, "That's Medical Technologist, not Medical Technician. One is a 4 year program while the other is a two year program. Mine is harder." Well you go girl. We are all very proud of her success. What's more, she had a nice paying job lined up before she even received the degree.

I can't imagine being involved with the medical communities. All the weird hours, working during holidays, playing with icky body fluids, and always having the threat of a medical malpractice suit hanging over your head if either you slip up for a second or if God's plan didn't agree with what the surviving family thought should have happened. I imagine sometimes it can be a pretty thankless career. Still, if the good you know you do didn't outweigh the negative, surely you wouldn't do it? My little sister worked hard, studied hard, and was one of only 6 students to graduated from a tough program. It seems she has a number of close friends in her live and that is always a good thing. I was lucky enough to meet two of them, both young hotties, and saw their close connection.

Hey sis, do yourself a favor and try really hard not to lose touch. Oh, and one more thing. You're out of college now so slow down on the new tattoos and eyebrow piercing. ;-)

The great thing about my younger sister is that she has never lacked for drive. While the rest of us often need a gentle push (I needed a lot in the beginning) she has always gone after what she wants with alacrity. Her twin brother is far more like me. We may be slow to get started but damnit we are going to finish it. Like I did, he took some time off to try out the real world and figure out what it is he wants to do. On his own and in his own time, he's made a choice to go to MY alma marta and even study in the same group (College of Communications). He wants to study to be a photojournalist (and since he wants it he'll get it) a la the stuff FOXphotog does and he couldn't have chosen a better program than what UNC-G offers (well, as far as in state stuff goes). We are all very proud of him for taking this step. Maybe me more so than others because I only moved toward my 4 year degree when my wife's father said he wouldn't let me court his daughter unless I did. My brother just knew it was time and decided to make it happen.

Hey bro, if you need letters of recommendation before the fall courses start you need to let me know. I'll see if I can help but I'm pretty sure you'll get in on your own. And although you're going into college now, try keeping the tattoos and body piercing to a minimum. ;-)

Finally, my oldest sister has had to overcome some pretty tough challenges in her day and she has managed to tackle all of them with dignity and determination. What makes me proud is that she realizes she doesn't have to confront life's challenges alone. Her family, her church, and her community are there to lend support spiritually, emotionally, and yes, even sometimes financially. She tries very hard to learn from her mistakes and pass these lessons on to her children. What more can a mother do?

Hey sis, they are going to make some of the same mistakes we did growing up, we can only hope to help make their penalties less severe, their pains not last as long, and their tough lessons SINK INTO THE SOUL. While in the end we are both responsible for own children, make sure your friends are helping you reinforce your message. I know I've had to "fire" more than a couple that didn't fit our message. ;-)

To all three of my siblings. I love you. I miss you. I'm proud of you all.

Anyway, for them what care...

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003