For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

The Capitol Gallery building has been under siege for the better part of the day. Literally!

All our exits are blocked including the underground parking area by some pretty pissed off Wheelchair Warriors. An organization called ADAPT are blockading our ability to get out of the building. 300+ electrically powered "silver bullets." When their rolling thunder charges your building and slams into doors trying to get in it's enough to send any sane person running for the safety of a 3rd floor office.

They're demanding, among other things, an apology for the "thousands unnecessarily institutionalized" while crying "no more stolen lives." Seems that 75% of moneys go to nursing homes with only 25% marked for alternative living conditions. They say people are not allowed to leave nursing homes so they are not going to allow the workers with the American Nurses Association that occupy the bottom two floors to leave. But they aren't checking IDs and letting us pass with a smile.

Truth is I have even more sympathy for them if they had a permit and stopped sneaking people in to pull the damn fire alarm. We can't get out and ringing is really loud. When I can hear, I have to laugh at the chants...they're pretty funny!

"We can't get out of the nursing home, you can't get out of the building."

"We don't want no steak, we don't want no cheese, we just want an apology."

Works for me. BTW, I never knew there were so many makes and models of electrically powered wheelchairs. Some of them look like they could outrun the bear leaving you to get mauled. Oh well, I'll see if I can get a special pass as I was the one the called FOXphotog to get them a little press. We'll see if the story runs tonight and what angle they put on it.

My only real complaint is...if the fire alarm is going off, get the fuck out of the way and let me out of the building. That is just plain rude and unsafe.

Anyway, well next I write I have to tell you about my little sister's college graduation. Stay tuned.


Westley / The Dread Pirate Roberts

Which Princess Bride Character are You?
this quiz was made by mysti

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003