For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

Well, I took the step. Last Saturday I quit smoking.

You see, I've been smoking on and off since I was 16. There were periods of 2-3 years in which I had no desire to smoke. The pattern was smoke a while, quit a while, smoke a while, quit a while. Course I didn't really quit for health reasons are anything more noble, I just lost interest in it (and didn't have the cash). This time it's different. I hadn't lost interest.

This time I was getting a little outpatient surgery when the recovery nurse told me that they were having trouble getting me breathing to 100%. She said that it was stuck at 96% even with the nose jets going. When she found out that I'm a smoker (okay, I've said it...I admit that I'm a smoker), she basically told me that I don't have the lungs of a 32 year old. Course I'm thinking "whatever" as I've just coming out of a nice general anesthesia induce nap. What I didn't realize was that the nurse was talking more to Pavla than me. Sigh...I knew then that I'd be quitting.

Geek Sidebar: This is kind of embarrassing to admit but either I have a very low "Savings Throw Versus Poisons" or I rolled a critical failure. Whatever he put into that IV drip took all of 30 seconds before my brunet haired nurse turned into a blonde. It was like *blink* no time passed and no dreams occurs as I was teleported from prep to recovery with a few stitches.

You see, I've actually been thinking about quitting for a long time. I don't like the costs, I don't tightness of the chest, and I definitely don't like the heartburn. And since I only smoked clove cigarettes (regular ones are disgusting) I was never able just to walk into any story and pick up a pack.

This last bit is actually pretty important as I am now on Day 5 and I haven't had a cigarette. Truth is, I already feel a little better if maybe more tired all the time. The funny thing is the way your mind plays with you giving you good "reasons" to have just one more.

I look out the office window and I see 20-30 people eating in the courtyard on a beautiful summer day. Every once in a while you see one light up and enjoy a smoke. I think about taking a break and walking outside to join them.

Silly really, they wouldn't have cloves on them anyway.

Well, Day 5 and while I've had a view psychological withdraw symptoms, I haven't noticed any physical. If fact, I've been coughing far more lately then I ever did as a smoker. I know, I know, 5 days isn't a big deal and my body isn't "fixing" itself yet but it sometimes feels this way.

So now I have set 3 goals for myself: quit smoking and stay that way, lose 20 pounds of fat, and complete my PT for my shoulder injury. If I can get all of that taken care of and I can get Diccon's help, I indent to fight with a vengeance in the next Crown Tournament.

So, if you see me, help me remember not to smoke. If you see me light up, feel free to give me a hard time and by all means let Pavla know. Us smokers can be sneaky bastards so don't go easy on me. There is no "kind of" quitting.

Maybe someday I'll be able to light a pipe again with a good bowl of English Blend...Sigh, yeah probably not.

But...maybe...

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003