For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

The Tournament of Chivalry was quite an event. For those who missed it you missed a good one. This is definitely a new Atlantian tradition whose time has come. I use to be concerned that perhaps the next generation of fighters would never emerge and that outside a tightly packed top 10 the prospects for a new "middle class" looked bleak. I felt the worst after last Crusade when it was obvious that the Atlantian army was still on a downward trend. I'm no longer as concerned about that. I can almost see enough strength present for the Atlantian warlord to, if needed, pick a group of 50-60 quality fighters to make up a champion's team. They wouldn't all be world-eaters but there are enough that their skills can be infectious to the greater Atlantian war machine.

I'm hoping to see a lot of fighters make the pilgrimage to Assessments on July 10th. Especially all the rapier fighters who will be fighting spear this Pennsic as we need to practice together. I've been pimping the TOC for months and now I only have two weeks to pimp Assessments. I'm praying for an excellent attendance because I know I need the practice.

I'm also glad to see the Sea Stags making new members as it is important to emphasize the value the Atlantian fighting community places on training. Personal achievement is one thing but if you are also a quality trainer you can exponentially increase the quality of the Atlantian army. And in fact fighting in general. If you teach others all your best stuff you then have to come up with better stuff so you can keep beating them. This way the bottom pushes the top instead of the top simply dominating the bottom.

This weekend I was a lot of good fighting and a lot of communication between fighters. Fighters from the tip of Maryland down to the lower reaches of South Carolina made an effort to attend and fight amidst the brutal humidity offered by the lovely North Carolina piedmont. I'm still tired and still sore but I'm thrilled to have been able to participate.

One final note. Balynar, Christian...it was great seeing you both on the field again.

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003