For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

Props to Educaitlin for picking Wednesday tonight's wildcard fan favorite in this season's American Idol...and she didn't even know it (I'll explain below).

Yup, I've started watching this season and I have to say that I am in fact being entertained. I can usually be found sitting on the sofa surfing the net on my company provided laptop or on some occasions actually working on some SCA project (I swear if I had a TV in my sewing room my family would be the best dressed family in the kingdom). But either way, I've been trying to find something on TV that interests me. A show has 15 minutes or less to grab my attention or I'll never watch it again.

Right now, reality show and crime dramas have my attention. I like:

  • Survivor: this all-star season brings back popular character from previous seasons. These vets have played the game before and are all friends when not playing. This of course makes for some interesting drama.
  • American Idol: Fun show where I found myself quickly picking my favorites and wishing them well. While I've never actually picked up the phone to vote, I almost did this week.
  • American Chopper: Am I the only one that thinks Paul Jr looks like Stephen of Bellatrix? These are the custom bike builders you are now seeing doing the AOL commercials. Their father/son interactions are just hysterical.
  • Monster House: These guys are not your momma's Trading Spaces. And while I'd never what them to touch my house, I find some of their ideas interesting.
  • Queer Eye: Could that blonde guy be just a little more gay? Truth is that he has all the best lines. Still, the "queer guy tips" are generally useful and their fashion advice usually shows that the 80's may be gone but not forgotten.
  • CSI: This show reminds me of the period of my life that I studied to become a Crime Scene Investigator. I loved the work and the technology but once I found out that even with a degree I'd be making $20K or less for the first 5 years I decided I couldn't support a family and pay off my college loans with that. It is a shame too because I really enjoyed the work.
  • Monk: Just watch this show. Monk's a Columbo or Sherlock Holmes with a compulsive disorder. This is a good example of how to live with a disability.
  • The Shield: I'm still trying to figure this show out. It is so filled with gray areas of morality that you can't figure out whose the antagonist and whose the protagonist. If you've got it figured out please let me know.

Back to Educaitlin picking the American Idol wildcard winner. There is a kid named John Peter Lewis that to me looks like a Hobbit. He is a small guy who each week the judges say has no personality. Simon went so far as to tell him he looks like a pen salesman. This week he came out singing an energetic song and broke into a Mick Jagger style dance. It was funny, lively, and so well done that I almost called to vote. For me, he looks like a cross between Sean Astin in "Rudy" and well...a Hobbit. But the people who actually pick up the phone and vote include a lot teenage girls.

And because Educaitlin had told us that young girls like small, non-muscular guys, I knew for sure he'd get the most votes even though his wasn't the best performance. Thank you Educaitlin for making me smarter than I am.

Anyway, for them what cares...

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003