For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

"The smallest minority on earth is the individual. Those who deny individual rights cannot claim to be defenders of minorities." - Ayn Rand

When I was in College, I had the opportunity to stay in an International Co-ed Dorm. In the rooms above, below, and around me were students from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Germany, France, Switzerland, Poland, Columbia, and Brazil.

There was a plaque on the wall in the common room that never failed to catch my attention. It was the famous quote by Pastor Niemoller.


"First they came for the Jews
and I did not speak out
because I was not a Jew.

Then they came for the Communists
and I did not speak out
because I was not a Communist.

Then they came for the trade unionists
and I did not speak out
because I was not a trade unionist.

Then they came for me
and there was no one left to speak out for me."


Eadan's mouse trap story reminded me of that.

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003