For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

After reading blueduke and hun-e-b's posts as well as gorm's guestbook entries, I decided I'd add a little something more. (Gorm, I'll have to deal with you in a slightly later post)

As for myself, I'm not at all offended by anyone's words/position on the topic of taxes. Surprisingly, a large number of the people I count as friends live left of center. I find that living with people that challenge my ideas, assumptions, and "truths" makes me a more centered person. In fact, when I met the woman who would one day become my wife, she seemed more liberal than Dick Gephardt and he's often viewed as the anti-christ of conservatism. There is nothing wrong with arguing a case you wholeheartedly believe in as long as you say, remain civil. I will never apologies for my beliefs but I do encourage others to attempt to change my views. It has happened before and it will happen again.

I only thing I take direct issue with blueduke's post was his defining taxes as "the redistribution of wealth." I would define tax as "a charge imposed by an authority figure for the purpose of providing a good or service." It should no more be a method of redistribution of wealth than say, buying Mary Kay cosmetics or paying for health care. The difference is one says you MUST buy why the other is a freedom of choice. Due to the nature of man, both are needed. What liberals and conservatives debate are those items at the bottom edges of the bell curve (left and right) that could go either way.

I'll grant you that redistribution is an "effect" of taxes, but not the "purpose." I don't buy donuts because I want to redistribute wealth. I buy them so I can enjoy their round sugary goodness (purpose). I don't buy a lot because I don't want to get fat (effect), not because I don't want to producer to make more money (effect). Similarly, I pay taxes in exchange for a good/service (purpose) and for the "insurance" that, if needed, there are programs that will give me a hand up(purpose). Now, other people are getting more donuts (effect) than I feel morally obligated to pay for. They are getting fat (figuratively speaking of course)on MY donuts!

For nearly 40 years we have lived with social experiments that have hindered as opposed to helped the plight of the poor and the minorities. As our segregation wounds are almost healed and in a couple of generations should be all but forgotten, it is time to move on to an "equality of opportunity" based society as opposed to one seeking "equality of results." There are plenty of examples of why some of the ideals of "the right" hold/held dear are wrong and vice-versa. Overall, the pendulum swings to the extremes as opposing forces attempt to counteract one another. Right now, it is starting its way back from the extreme left heading toward center. There is no statistical glass celling nor is there a pervasive national crisis related to the discrimination of minority groups which requires a pervasive national remedy. It is right and proper that the courts are taking a look at both these issues now.

The freedom of self-determination combined with a healthy moral obligation to common benefit of all is what my new breed of Republican stands for. It is a "hand up, not a hand out" mentality. One breeds self-reliance, the other dependency.

Anyway, for them what care...there it is.

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003