For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

Interesting,

I'm going to break a rule I have about not talking about dreams as this one leads me to a question.

First, I've been thinking about seriously starting my training to win the next Crown. This, of course, is very upsetting to my wife who currently has no desire to be Queen (what with both a 3 year and a 6 month old). So Christmas morning saw me on the floor with my son's doodle pad practicing in the only way my wife would allow.

Colin Gordon

Colin G...

C... G...

You get the picture. Never had to sign a scroll before so I started practicing my signing. Of course, that is what one might call putting the cart before the horse. I think my beautiful, understanding, and ever wise wife has agreed to let me fight in the next crown but only if I fight with my new round shield. Anyway, on to the dream.

It donned on me that I may never want to be King because the one person above all others that Sue and I could count on to make things work is no longer playing. Between Sue and I, neither of us have the padraigaesque organizational skill to make it enjoyable for the populace. Sure, we could both handle the public aspect, but how in the world would we be able to nail the dismount of a successful reign without Eadan secretly running the show? That lady could organize, prioritize, and balance the federal budget. Oh well, something tells me the next couple of reigns are already locked up as is anyway.

The second part of the dream included a conversation with Andrew, Ranulf and Aradd where we all agreed that for one event, we'd all wear our "throwback" jerseys from our first year in the SCA. We even went so far as to try to scrap together as much of the original pieces of armor as we could find and even wear the earliest garb we could find that still fit.

It would be a blast to do an event in which new people could see Gyrth's original helmet or Cuan's original garb, or Balynar's original armor. How about asking Keilyn and/or Mel if they'd be willing to prepare the same meal based on the first menu they ever prepared? It would also let new people see that all of us started out rough and needed time to get to were we are today. Well, okay maybe except for Dafydd. ;-)

So the question is, would there be any interest in attending an event with a throwback theme?

Anyway, for them what care...

Colin Gordon

Colin G...

C... G...

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003