For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

Continued for perception is reality


This does in fact dovetail with the concept of moral relativism. Right and wrong are not subjective, opinions of folks are. Right and wrong are reality, opinions are not. If some one has an opinion about x it may be quite real to them, but that does not make it real to all. That is the issue. Perception shapes an individuals idea of reality. That is more correct, but that doesn't sound as catchy in management lingo.


Moral Relativism...hmmm. Not sure I want to tackle that one.

Where it is true one's perceptions are filtered through one's view of morality as well as understanding of and adherence to social norms, I don't like the idea of "carte blanc" imposing my beliefs of right or wrong into an interpersonal relationship event. The only things that are definitively wrong are those things that have been codified into law...and even those things change as society reevaluates its needs (i.e. prohibition).

I'll add fuel to the fire with the following argument:
Morality influences culture,
Culture influences social norms,
social norms influences law,

now the tricky part:
Morality, culture, social norms, and law all influence personal beliefs and behaviors.

It is however neither linear nor hierarchal. It depends on what was the primary influence in an individual's upbringing. And since we can't know that information, we can't force our own morality onto someone else while establishing a new interpersonal relationship (i.e. friend, possible lover, coworker). As you get to know them and they move more to the "right of DK" in your mind, the more LIKELY they will closely match your personal belief structure. You know, birds of a feather and all that. We CAN however have a reasonable expectation that people will live within the law (the part of social norms, culture, and morality that has been codified) as it is part of the social contract.

I don't like moral relativism as a topic as it is inherently divisive. Once you say moral relativism is bad, than you have to define what is good and I don't know what its opposite is. Moral Certainty? Who's the judge of that? God? I'll buy that but who has the right to speak in God's name? Catholics say the Pope, Baptists say the Bible, Jews say the Torah, Muslim say the Koran, Atheists say "who are you guys listening too?" Sorry, we just don't have a moral "Marbury vs. Madison."

Perception is by default POV (point of view) specific. We all have our own set of personal "filters" we use to judge others. It is beneficial to understand that "filters" come in all shapes and colors and by attempting to understand other people's POV you may learn stuff about yourself that makes you better at interpersonal relationships.

"Colin is an asshole." From my POV that is an incorrect statement. From others it could be spot on. It's my job to take my blinders off and see what other people are seeing. Aren't you thankful when someone tells you you've got crumbs in your beard? Dirt on your face? Toilet paper stuck to the bottom of your shoe?

Sorry, I'm not usually this preachy or in professor mode. If you agree, please say so. If you don't, please let me know why. And if you think "Colin is an asshole," let me know. I may not change the thing about who I am that makes you think so, but I'll know a little more about your filters.

Anyway...I'm coming back from Mars now.

For Them What Care, There It Is.

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003