For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

1.What is the most important lesson you have learned ***since*** your knighting? Have people treated you very differently since you were knighted?

I guess that I *am* in fact a knight. It is a bit tough getting something you are not sure you *really* deserve especially if your view is "someone else deserves it before me." That is a hard game to play out in one's mind as you have guilt, pride, doubt, and joy all playing through your psyche. I'm still a young peer that has a lot to learn from the vets. I came to peace with my demons when I finally realized that I could continue to learn and grow and asked for help even while I was answering the call of others to help them do the same.

Have people treated me differently? Yeah, some. But as long as I don't treat them differently I'm okay with that. Those I would have helped before I help now while those I'd have asked before I still ask now.

2. What do you love best about DC? What do you hate the most?

Catwoman is kind of sexy but Batman really SUCKS!!! Oh, you mean the nation's capital?

Closer to new friends. Further from old ones. Sorry if this seems like a short answer but my life really is this simple. If I had to throw out one additional thing it would be that the cost of housing up here sucks. Sure we are on the doorstep of some of the top-rated schools in the country but damn it is expensive up here. Do you know how much house we could get in my old hometown for $300K?

3. If you were running for office, what would you do to appeal to women voters? How about the 18-25 age voters?

Wow, what a good question. I'd start off by treating them as equals. I would let them know that their opinion is important to me and that I'd take it into careful consideration, just as I would any guy, but that in the end I have would only cast votes in favor of issues I supported. I won't pander and I won't make intellectually dubious decisions because a pollster says I'd impress the "soccer moms." The trick part is that I have to feel comfortable that my "core values" are the same or very close to those of my constitutes. That way I can sleep at night knowing I'm serving them well.

But I guess that crosses over the gender line too much to answer your question. How would I appeal to women voters? I honestly think that if they see that I'm a loving husband and caring father whose positions must closely matches their own, my job is 80% done. The rest is proving it to them time and again.

What about 18-25 age voters? Well, I'm not going to play the Sax. Not because I'm snooty but because I just don't play the Sax. I don't know if I'd try to appeal to them so much as I'd try to convince them just how important it is for them to play attention to politics even at such a young age (yeah, like I'm an old-timer now). That demographic traditionally turns out to vote in low numbers. Sad really as they are about to get screwed by a generation that is set to retire who planned every poorly for their senior years. I'm afraid the services they've all grown to expect just won't be there anymore in part due to the burden the Baby Boomers have left their children. Hmm, that seems kind of bitter but I'm going to leave it since I thought it. Course, you just can't get elected playing generational or class warfare. You should dwell on the "solutions" more than the "problems" and I think that appeals most to young adults. They aren't quite so cynical or jaded.

4. Golden or Silver Age comics?

Sorry, but I wasn't geek enough to know the difference right off so I had to do a little research. Apparently, there have currently been 6 ages of comics.

The Platinum Age: 1897 - 1932
The Golden Age: 1933 - 1945
The Atomic Age: 1946 - 1956
The Silver Age: September, 1956 - 1969
The Bronze Age: 1970 - 1979
The Modern Age: 1980 - Present

While I'm now curious as to the distinctions between the various ages, I'm afraid I'm not allotted enough time to do the research on my own. Perhaps if someone out there geeky enough either knows or is willing to help? But, let me try to answer your question differently, in a fashion I feel comfortable discussing.

"Four color" versus "Graphic Novels." Sometimes you'll hear people describe a particular character as "four colors" meaning he's a boy scout in tights with superpowers. In other words, they'd do everything in there power to stop the evil plot, catch the bad guy, and save the innocents all while ensuring no one died. They were definitely more "Black and White" comics for a simpler time. While I liked them, there was really little of the internal "conflict" that is so pervasive in the modern day graphic novel. I'm going to cheat. I like graphic novels with four color heroes. If that makes sense.

5. Any advice for the vertically challenged fighters out there?

Hit them before they hit you. Seriously...but I'll also answer this in more detail tomorrow.

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003