For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

Let me start off by saying that this author misspoke when he said that "all the cool people" would be going to the event next week. Obviously this was a cold medicine induced error of great moment. As a result, this author apologies to the good cool readers who will be staying at home, standing by their computers, and waiting for the colin-g name in their buddy list to turn red. You are, of course, the coolest people of them all. This author's blessings on your house and home.

Note: If you are a new visitor, please consider signing my questbook and letting me know which of my banner adds caught your eye. Thanks!

So I was watching the Bush press conference last night and after a while, I was wondering why I hadn't seen Helen Thomas. It always seemed to me that she was one of the first, if not THE first, to ask the President a question. Then I noted that while the President took questions from a couple of Podunk papers and news outlets, I hadn't seen a question from a Washington Post reporter either.

This morning on the Metro, I read this article from the Washington Times (I'm sure it doesn't surprise any of you that I buy that paper instead of the Post). Here is a hint Helen, if you what to keep your record of consecutive "first questions" going, try these simple things:

  1. Don't be asking the President's Press Secretary how President Bush can "slaughter innocent Iraqis in a quest for oil."
  2. Don't spout off about how he is "the worst president in all of American history."
  3. Don't sit on the front row wearing a French beret.

Just a thought really.

Not sure what the issue with the Washington Post is but I'm sure it had less to do with Mike Allen and more to do with the Post proper. This relatively even handed article highlights a quote that I was sure would be a sound bite. "It's time for people to show their cards and let people know where they stand in relation to Saddam." Okay, this is not normal. Generally you don't ask for a vote in this situation unless you know you can get it. Here he's saying if the whip doesn't come out in our favor, we are still calling for a vote. I do like this approach here as it makes these countries put their opinions on the record. Countries like France, Germany, and Russia (who all have well known financial interest in the outcome of this conflict) are going to have to go on record as invalidating the Security Council's resolution 1441 and, potentially, the Security Council itself.

I'm betting our "Old Europe" and ex-Soviet Union friends will blink. How many other pieces of intelligence are we sitting on like this article highlighting French company's efforts in "selling spare parts to Iraq for its fighter jets and military helicopters during the past several months." Ouch. How would you like to be President Chirac knowing that the Iraqi government still owned your country an estimated $4 billion for equipment illegally smuggled from your doors to Saddam's.

I'm predicting an interesting weekend. Hold on to your seats.

Anyway, for them what care...

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003