For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

Unfortunately, I will only get Christmas Day off next week. This means I have to drive down to Richmond on Christmas Eve, spent the night, and drive back to DC Christmas night so that I may be at work Thursday morning.

What is the big deal you say? Lots of people have to do the same thing? Well, that is true enough but I'm a father who hasn't seen or played with his sons for more than a couple of hours over the last 3 weeks.

When I was in plays in college, there was a number of times I was called on to cry. This was a very hard thing for me to do as I naturally hate showing strong emotions in public and the trick they taught me just didn't work. The trick was to think of something not related to the play or scene in your own life that makes you cry. Didn't work. Now-a-days I just have to think about my sons and I start to ball like a little girl whether I want to or not.

I really don't understand how any parents could ever consider getting a divorce if it means not seeing or talking to your children whenever you want to. Last night I talked to Zack on the phone for about 5 minutes. The conversation went something like this...

"Daddy's worken?"

"Yes, but I'll be home tomorrow night."

"Daddy's worken. Come home daddy."

"I'll be there. I promise."

"Ride home daddy."

"See you tomorrow night, son."

"I had French fries for dinner."

=grin=

I've never spent so much time away from my family. See why I'm not writing right now? I just sound like a depressing wimp. Well, that's me right now...Sir Cry-a-lot.

Anyway, for them what care...Merry Christmas and spend time with your family and loved ones.

P.S. My favorite Christmas song.


The Little Drummer Boy

Come they told me
pa rum pum pum pum
A new born King to see,
pa rum pum pum pum
Our finest gifts we bring
pa rum pum pum pum
To lay before the King
pa rum pum pum pum
rum pum pum pum
rum pum pum pum

So to honor Him
pa rum pum pum pum,
when we come.

Little Baby
pa rum pum pum pum
I am a poor boy too,
pa rum pum pum pum
I have no gift to bring
pa rum pum pum pum
That's fit to give our King
pa rum pum pum pum
rum pum pum pum
rum pum pum pum

Shall I play for you!
pa rum pum pum
on my drum.

Mary nodded
pa rum pum pum pum
The ox and lamb kept time
pa rum pum pum pum
I played my drum for Him
pa rum pum pum
I played my best for Him
pa rum pum pum pum
rum pum pum pum
rum pum pum pum

Then He smiled at me
pa rum pum pum pum
me and my drum.

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003