For Them What Care
Latest Entries Older Entries" Guestbook Contact Me My Profile Diaryland

As everyone gets ready for their summer vacations, I thought maybe the right thing to do was to help keep you guys from working. Right now, you've probably stopped staring out of your office window just long enough to read this post before continuing on with you vacation longings.

Well, I understand. So keeping with my job of distractor, I have a few old items to get out of the way.

For instance, when last I updated my membership, I got a number of new banner ads. Now in banner ads, a 2% click through is considered to be pretty good and a 3% to 4% click through is considered to be excellent.

This first one got me a 2.5% click through rate.

It was designed for me by Pavla and I thought that it was pretty darn funny. It was in reference to a post I made in April of last year called SEXSEXSEXSEX. I still get people finding me via search engines through that post. Apparently, people from Saudi Arabia have great need for this topic as their region keeps finding this page. Boy aren't they disappointed.

Then there is the second banner ad that I designed and ran. Would you believe it had a 4.5% click through rate?

(Well, I guess sex sells. But really, isn't that a nice shade of red lipstick?)

This one, of course, referenced the "Rules of Dating" series I did a while back (seen left). Best I can tell, that little open letter to my sons has been read by at least 1500 people. And that's not including those who printed it and passed it around. (Yeah, I know. Who does that anymore these days when even grandmas have email.) Still, while it isn't a lot of people, the kind words and feedback I've received from readers has already made the effort well worth it. I only hope my sons can truly learn from my mistakes.

Yeah, probably not.

Anyway, wrapping up the clean up, last night Palva and I talked about yesterday's men vs women fighters post and the resulting guestbook comments. The thing she seemed to agree the most with was Educaitlin's astute observations. As the might Pavla explained it, "If an attacker was coming after me I'd fight to get away. If he was coming after my boys I'd kill him."

Well, that about sums that up nicely.

Don't piss off the Palva.

She has secret ninja powers you know.

previous - next - links



� colin-g 2001-2003